1. Definition.  The International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF) is a joint Commission of the Mycology Division of the International Union of Microbiological Societies  (IUMS), the International Union of Biological Sciences, and the International Mycological Association (IMA; Section for General Mycology, IUBS).

2. Objective and Aims.  The objective of the ICTF is to promote work on the taxonomy of fungi, especially those of economic importance, to encourage the dispersal of its results, and to develop good taxonomic practice. The Commission’s primary aim is to improve and promote improvements in any or all aspects of fungal systematics.  The Commission further aims to extend understanding of fungal systematics in the scientific community by publishing its findings and by sponsoring meetings, workshops, and sessions dealing with aspects of its work.

3. Membership.  Membership is by invitation of the Commission.  Membership shall be limited to experts in some area of fungal taxonomy or other persons who, in the opinion of the Commission, are able to provide fundamental information on fungal systematics on an ongoing basis.  There is no limit to the number of members, but the Commission strives to achieve diversity in the gender and geography of its members.  Any member may make a proposal to invite a new member: the decision to issue an invitation shall be decided by a simple majority vote of the members.  The members are entitled to serve a period of 4 (four) years with the possibility of serving more than one term.  Terms will generally be considered for renewal at each International Mycological Congress (IMC).

4. Ex-officio membership. The business of the Commission often overlaps with the business of other Commissions, Subcommissions, Committees, and Working Groups, whose Chairpersons may be considered ex-officio members of the ICTF. Ex-officio members have the same responsibilities as regular members, but to avoid potential conflicts of interest between the interests of their Commissions and the ICTF, they do not have voting privileges. Ex-officio memberships will be re-evaluated at each International Mycological Congress (IMC).

5. Termination of membership.  A member may resign at any time by written communication to the Executive Vice-President.  Any individual’s membership may be terminated at any time by a simple majority vote of members, the purpose of this Statute being to exclude continuing membership from those not actively participating in the Commission’s work.

6. Executive.  The Executive shall consist of a President, a Vice-President, and an Executive Vice-President, and, if the need arises, a Treasurer elected from within the membership unless no nominations are forthcoming from the membership.  The President will automatically become the Past-Chair following his/her resignation as the President. The Vice-President shall assume duties as President following the resignation of the previous President. Executive positions are held for four years, with the possibility of being extended by an additional four years with a majority vote or until such time as elections are called for, at the request of any member in writing to the Executive Vice-President.  Appointments will generally end and begin at the International Mycological Congress.

7. Responsibilities.  The President shall be responsible for the Commission’s work program.  The Vice-President participates in the development and monitoring of the Commission’s work program, with the aim of assuming the duties of setting the work program when he/she assumes the presidency. The Executive Vice-President shall be responsible for keeping minutes of formal meetings, for other record keeping, and for keeping the International Mycological Association, the IUMS Mycology Division, and the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) informed of the Commission’s activities.  The Treasurer shall be responsible for the Commission’s finances and shall submit a balance sheet to each formal meeting of the Commission.

8. Governance.  The Commission shall be bound by the statutes of the IUMS Mycology Division and of the IMA.

9. Finances.  The Commission has the right to raise funds and to administer those funds as it sees fit, for its own purposes, as a non-profit organization bound by the statutes of IUMS and IMA.

10. Publications.  The Commission has the right to publish any or all of its deliberations, studies, or findings as it sees fit.  Members or consultants may publish results of work sponsored by the Commission only with Commission approval, by majority vote, and shall suitably acknowledge Commission support.

11. Subcommissions.  The Commission has the right to form and should actively encourage the formation of Subcommissions.  The Subcommissions have the function of promoting the systematics of a specific genus, a related group of genera, or other taxonomic-oriented subjects.  Such Subcommissions shall be bound by these Statutes and by Statutes of IUMS and IMA.  Such Subcommissions shall produce and operate within their own set of Statutes.  In other respects, such Subcommissions shall be self-governing.

12. Formal meetings.  A formal meeting of the Commission is defined as a meeting in which the President or Vice-President is present, minutes are taken, and voting procedures are used.  A formal meeting may be held at any time when not less than 5 (five) members are together, provided that all Commission members are advised in advance in writing of such a meeting.

13. Voting.  Voting on any matter related to the Commission may be taken by email or other electronic means, in which case a decision will be made by a simple majority of members who return a vote to the Executive Vice-President by a nominated date; or at a formal meeting, as defined in Clause 12, again by a simple majority vote of members present and proxies received from absent members.  In these Statutes, “voting” is governed by the provisions of this clause.

14. Disbanding.  The Commission may be disbanded (1) by a simple majority vote of members either by post or at a formal meeting; or (2) by a constitutional and valid vote of IUMS Mycology Division and IMA to order disbanding.  In the event of disbanding, any and all assets of the Commission shall be disbursed equally between IUMS and IMA.

15. Alteration of Statutes.  These statutes may be altered by a simple majority vote of members, under the conditions defined in Clause 13.

These statutes were unanimously approved on 15-April-2018