The mission of the International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF) is to promote the science of fungal taxonomy, both by facilitating the development of high scientific standards among practicing taxonomists and by providing information to people who need to access or interpret taxonomic information on fungal taxonomy.

Our membership is international and includes respected scientists studying most major fungal or fungus-like groups of organisms. Much of our business is undertaken by a series of subcommissions devoted to furthering our taxonomic understanding of critical fungal groups. We meet at the IMA International Mycological Congress every four years and, when possible, at other meetings, such as the annual Spring Mycology Symposium at the Westerdijk Institute of Fungal Biodiversity, and organize and sponsor sessions or symposia at other congresses. Members and officers of the commission are elected by the existing members.

The ICTF is a COMCOF (Committees, Commissions, and Federations) of the International Union of Microbiological Sciences (IUMS) and the International Mycological Association (IMA).  ICTF is also tightly aligned with the ICPA (IUMS International Commission on Penicillium and Aspergillus) and the NCF (Nomenclature Committee for Fungi).