International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi General Meeting Minutes

Board Room 4, Queen Sirikit Conference Center, Bangkok, Thailand Wednesday, 06 August 2014

The meeting started at 2:00 pm.

Members present: K.A. Seifert (Chair), T. Aoki, G. Bagyanarayana, J. Dianese, D.L. Hawksworth, C. Lei, T. May, S.A. Redhead, C.L. Schoch, and N. Zhang

Regrets: A.N. Miller (Secretary), C. Aime, P. Chaverri, P. Crous, I. Druzhinina, D. Geiser, P. Johnston, A.Y. Rossman, R.A. Samson, M. Thines

Chair: Keith Seifert

Past Chair: David Hawksworth

Note: This meeting was originally scheduled for 3:30 PM Aug. 3, but was rescheduled because of the late arrival of the chair following missed flights.

The meeting was opened by the chair and it was established that a quorum was present. The agenda was reviewed.

A review of the previous program of work, initially tabled in Amsterdam in April 2011, was presented. Notable successes were the relocation and embellishment of the Commission website and the approval of an official barcode for Fungi as well as the completion of a number of lists of names by the various Subcommissions, Nomenclatural Working Groups and affiliated Commissions. The chair showed photographs of a poster presented at the IUMS conference in Montreal during the previous week, by the International Commission on the Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV), a parallel commission of the IUMS, which governs viral nomenclature in a style similar to Bergey's Manual for bacteriology.

The annual progress report submitted to the IUMS Mycology Division was distributed and discussed. Potential additions to the officers of the ICTF were discussed, i.e. a nomenclatural secretary and/or vice chair, which could succeed the chair. No official decisions were made during the meeting and it was agreed that the matter would be revisited at the next General Meeting of the ICTF. (**Action item:** Officers to prepare proposal for possible new officers for next general meeting).

The planned preparatory discussion on the agenda for the Nomenclatural Sessions of the IMC was shelved because two of the three sessions had already occurred.

Changes to the Draft Statutes of the ICTF were proposed, discussed and changes to paragraphs 1 and 2 were approved by a show of hands. Other paragraphs were discussed but the chair did not request a vote to approve changes, and the discussion will continue at the next general meeting (**Action item:** Seifert to reword proposed changes for discussion prior to next general meeting).

The following new members were nominated (* indicates a nomination occurring at the meeting; the others nominates by email prior to the meeting) and elected unanimously, pending their acceptance:

*Uwe Braun (Germany, nominated by G. Bagyanarayana)
Wilhelm De Beer (South Africa, nominated by Keith Seifert)
David Hawksworth (UK and Spain, nominated by Keith Seifert)
Kevin Hyde (Thailand, nominated by David Hawksworth)
*Peter Letcher (United States, nominated by Keith Seifert)
Robert Luecking (United States, nominated by Conrad Schoch)
Marc Stadler (Germany, nominated by Keith Seifert)
Luis Fernando Pascholati Gusmao (Brazil, nominated by Jose Dianese)

(Action item: Schoch to invite new candidates to join ICTF).

Prior to the meeting, the chair had invoked the Statutes and requested an election of officers. The following were nominated by email prior to the meeting and acclaimed as the officers of the ICTF for the next four-year term.

Chair: Conrad Schoch (nominated by Pedro Crous, Keith Seifert)

Executive Secretary: Andrew Miller (nominated by Keith Seifert, G. Bagyanarayana)

It was proposed that the next ICTF general meeting would be held in association with the CBS Spring Mycology Symposium in April 2015, where the chair would launch the agenda for the next four years (**Action item:** Development of agenda by officers of ICTF).

The meeting ended at 3:15 pm.

Minutes approved by email vote on 13-Aug-2014.